Student Fee Advisory Committee

Student Fee Advisory Committee


What is the Student Fee Advisory Committee (SFAC)?

The Student Fee Advisory Committee (SFAC) is a committee charged with advising the administration on the type, amount and expenditure of compulsory fees under Texas Education Code Section 54.503 for student service fees; Section 54.507 student health & medical services fee; Section 54.521 student center facilities and Section 54.539 recreational sports fee.

Who serves on the Student Fee Advisory Committee?
The SFAC committee is comprised of nine members. Any TAMUCC student undergraduate or graduate student who is currently enrolled for not less than six (6) semesters, is in good standing with the University and has a minimum GPA of 2.0 (undergraduate) or 3.0 (graduate) is eligible to serve on the committee.

Five students are selected by the university’s student government association and four members, who are representative of the entire institution, are appointed by the President of the institution. SFAC student members appointed by SGA, serve either one- or two-year terms. Upon appointment, student government will identify those students serving one year terms and those serving two year terms.

A vacancy on the committee shall be filled for the unexpired portion of the term in the same manner as the original appointment.

The Associate Vice President & Dean of Students will serve as chair.

When are meetings held?

The SFAC shall conduct its meetings in accordance with Section 54.5033 of the Texas Education Code. Notice of the SFAC meetings (date, hour, place and subject of the meeting) will be published in the Island Waves newspaper and on the Student Engagement and Success homepage.

The SFAC will conduct its meetings with a quorum of at least five of the nine voting members present. If a quorum is not reached or maintained, members may continue to meet and discuss agenda items but may not take any action.

For room location and agenda items please refer to the meeting notice section on the Student Engagement & Success website.

Can a student not on the committee, attend the meetings?

Meetings are open to the public. A member of the campus community is allowed to present written/oral testimony to the committee, for a reasonable amount of time as determined by the committee chair, on any subject listed on the meeting announcement. Testimony on subjects not listed on the agenda will not be allowed. An individual interested in addressing the committee should contact the SFAC chair, in writing, 48 hours in advance of the meeting.

How does the Student Fee Advisory committee come to a decision on how student fees are

Budgets that are funded from the Student Service Fee will be presented to the SFAC detailing any requests for additional funding. The members of the SFAC will discuss each budget. Final deliberations will be done in closed session and members will vote in favor, or against it. All requests receiving a majority vote are approved. Once all requests are reviewed and decided upon, the chair will submit a written report to the University President. The University President will review the committee’s recommendations and work with the Vice President of Student Engagement and Success on any actions that need to be implemented.

How are the results of the process publicized?

The final recommendations of the SFAC will be recorded and posted on the Division of Student Engagement and Success homepage.

Student Fee Advisory Committee Members:

Presidential appointment:

Ann DeGaish, chair (term expires 6/19)

Dr. Misty Kesterson, faculty member (term expires 6/19)

Dr. Kellie Smith, faculty member (term expires 6/19)

Sara Hernandez, student (term expires  6/19)


SGA appointment: 

Justin Bustos, student (term expires 6/19)

Vacant, student (term expires 6/19)

Mason Myers, student (term expires 6/20)

Conner Allen, student (term expires 6/19)

Damien Olivera, student (term expires 6/20)


FY17 SFAC Recommendations

 2018 Final Report


Current Meeting

Meeting Notice:



****Meeting Notice*** 

Student Fee Advisory Committee
2:00 pm, March 22, 2019
University Center (Rm 318)


  1. Introductions
  2. Charge of the committee
  3. Review of 2018 process
  4. Projections for next year
  5. Upcoming meetings:
    1. March 29
    2. April 5
    3. April 12
    4. April 26